Extension to term of NI Screen Chair

Date published: 05 October 2021

Economy Minister Gordon Lyons has announced an extension to the term of the Chairwoman of NI Screen, Dame Rotha Johnston.

Extension to term of NI Screen Chair
Extension to term of NI Screen Chair

The tenure of Dame Rotha Johnston has been extended from 1 July 2021 until 31 January 2022.

This extension was made in accordance with the Code of Practice issued by the Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland.

Notes to editors: 

1. Pen picture:

  • Rotha Johnston took up her post as Chairwoman in June 2013. A Queen’s University graduate, Ms Johnston has had a career in the textile, economic development and food sectors. She currently has various investment interests primarily in the property sector.
  • In addition, Rotha holds a number of non-executive positions including Chair of Northern Ireland Electricity and Member of KPMG NI Advisory Board. Rotha is also a Director at Qubis and Ulster Garden Villages.
  • Previously she was a shareholder and director of Variety Foods Ltd, a food service company supplying the Irish market; Head of Marketing in Moygashel Textiles, part of Lamont Holdings and Business Development Director, LEDU.
  • Rotha also held the role of BBC Trustee, Pro Chancellor at Queen’s University Belfast and Deputy Chair of Invest Northern Ireland.
  • In 2006 she was awarded the CBE in recognition of her contribution to industry in Northern Ireland and in 2016 was made a Dame. She does not hold any other public appointments.

2. Northern Ireland Screen (NI Screen), is a Non-Departmental Public Body (NDPB) of the Department for the Economy and is funded under The Northern Ireland Screen Commission (Funding) Order (Northern Ireland) 2020.

3. NI Screen’s role is to maximise the economic, cultural and educational value of the screen industries for the benefit of Northern Ireland. Its mission is to accelerate the development of a dynamic and sustainable screen industry and culture in Northern Ireland.

4. Current membership stands at 12 (Chair and 11 members).

5. All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process.  However, the Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland requires the political activity of appointees (if any declared) to be published.  Dame Rotha Johnston has not carried out any political activity in the past five years.

6. The Department for the Economy will initiate a new competition in September to appoint a new Chair in accordance with the Commissioner for Public Appointments, Northern Ireland (CPANI) Code of Practice.

7. Follow us on Twitter.

8. For media enquiries please contact the DfE Press Office via email at pressoffice@economy-ni.gov.uk

9. The Executive Information Service operates an out of hours service for media enquiries only between 1800hrs and 0800hrs Monday to Friday and at weekends and public holidays. The duty press officer can be contacted on 028 9037 8110.

Share this page

Back to top