Lyons appoints governing body members to five further education colleges

Date published: 24 January 2022

Economy Minister Gordon Lyons has appointed thirty two new governing body members across five further education colleges.

Appointments to CITB NI board
Appointments to CITB NI board

All have been appointed for a four year period.

Belfast Metropolitan College

Stephen Dallas, Lauren McAteer, Seamus McGoran and Yvonne Murphy have been appointed from 13 January 2022.

Northern Regional College

Louise Crilly, Pauline Martin, Gary McAllister, Denise McIlwaine, Raymond McKernan, Simon Shevlin and David Small have been appointed from 13 January 2022.

North West Regional College

Diane Creevy, Mary Gormley, Sian Fisher, Jennifer McKeever, Charlene Shongo and Peter Thompson have been appointed from 13 January 2022 with a further three new members, Kieran Kennedy MBE, Brian O'Neill and Frederick Smyth appointed from 1 July 2022.

Southern Regional College

Gary McMurray, Laura Milner, Thomas Moore and Hilary Singleton OBE have been appointed from 13 January 2022.

South West College

Elaine Grier, Sandra Isherwood, Alana Jones-Campbell, Celine McCartan MBE, Anne McCleary and Lynsey Quinn have been appointed from 13 January 2022, with a further two new members, Frances Campbell and Brian Ingram appointed from 1 July 2022.

The appointments were made in accordance with the Code of Practice issued by the Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland.

Notes to editors: 

1. These members have been appointed following a recent public appointments competition.

2. The post of Governing Body member is remunerated at £250 for a governing body meeting and £150 for a committee meeting or event sanctioned by the Chair plus travel and subsistence allowances which are payable at Northern Ireland Civil Service rates in respect of activities carried out whilst fulfilling their duties.

3. Further education colleges are non-departmental public bodies of the Department for the Economy established under the Further Education (Northern Ireland) Order 1997. The governing body of a further education college is responsible for securing the efficient and effective management of the college, the provision of suitable further education to its students and determining the college’s strategic direction. In delivering college services, the governing body takes into account the educational needs of the business sector and the local community.

4. Pen pictures are available on the DfE website.

5. All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. However, the Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland requires the political activity of appointees (if any declared) to be published. The individuals appointed have all declared no political activity.

6. To keep up to date with news from the Department you can follow us on the following social media channels:

  • Twitter – @Economy_NI
  • Facebook – @EconomyNI
  • Skills to Succeed Facebook
  • Instagram – economy_ni
  • LinkedIn – Department for the Economy NI

7. For media enquiries, please contact the DfE Press Office at  

8. The Executive Information Service operates an out-of-hours service for media enquiries only between 1800hrs and 0800hrs Monday to Friday and at weekends and public holidays. The duty press officer can be contacted on 028 9037 8110.

Share this page

Back to top