Economy Minister announces appointments to the Board of the Consumer Council for Northern Ireland

Date published: 27 June 2024

Economy Minister Conor Murphy has announced the appointment of a new Chair, Deputy Chair and eight members to the Board of the Consumer Council for Northern Ireland.

Economy Minister Conor Murphy pictured with Clare Bailey and Gerard McCurdy.
Economy Minister Conor Murphy pictured with Clare Bailey and Gerard McCurdy.

Clare Bailey (Chair) and Gerard McCurdy (Deputy Chair) have been appointed to the CCNI Board, with the appointments commencing on 17 June 2024 for a four-year period.

Additionally, Grainne McVeigh, Heather Moore, Niamh O Maolain, Orla Sheils, Mick McAteer, James Doorley, Mark Dougan and Andrew Murray have been appointed new members, also from 17 June 2024, for four years.

The Minister said:

“The Consumer Council champions and safeguards the interests of local consumers and is rightly seen as a trusted voice. I am pleased to appoint a new Chair and Deputy Chair, along with eight members, to the board of CCNI and I wish them every success. They will provide strengthened leadership and direction for the organisation as it continues to support consumers and advise government on consumer choice, rights and protection during these very challenging times for consumers and businesses.”

Notes to editors: 

1. The appointments have been made in accordance with the Code of Practice issued by the office for the Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland. More information is available on the CPANI website

2. The Consumer Council for Northern Ireland, established in 1985, under the terms of the General Consumer Council (Northern Ireland) Order 1984, is funded by the Department for the Economy. The Council’s aim is to make the consumer voice heard and make it count. It has a statutory remit to promote and safeguard the interests of consumers and has specific functions in relation to energy, water, transport, postal services and food.

3. Under the provisions of the Order, the Board of the Council shall consist of a Chairperson, a Deputy Chairperson and no more than 16 members. Current membership now stands at 10 (Chair, Deputy Chair and eight members). Fees (under review) are payable to the Chair of £24,415 per annum, to the Deputy Chair for CCNI Board meetings of £77.13 (per meeting under four hours) and £154.27 (per meeting over four hours) and for members of £58.17 (per meeting under four hours) and £116.32 (per meeting over four hours). 

4. All appointments are made on merit, and political activity plays no part in the selection process. However, the Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland requires the political activity of appointees (if any declared) to be published.

Clare Bailey was a Member of the Green Party of Northern Ireland. She was elected as an MLA 2016-2022 and held the office of party leader 2018-2022. During this time she campaigned, canvassed and spoke on behalf of the party. She has not undertaken any political activity since 2022.

Mick McAteer was a member of the Labour Party from 2011 until May 2023. He was Political Education Officer for Hackney North and Stoke Newington Constituency from 2020 to 2023. He canvassed for the Labour Party at all general elections during his time with the party. He is no longer a member of the Labour Party.

The remaining members have confirmed no political activity.

5. Pen pictures of the appointees are available on the DfE website.  

6. The Department may take photographs and videos at announcements and events to publicise its work. Photographs, interviews, videos or other recordings may be issued to media organisations for publicity purposes or used in promotional material, including in publications, newspapers, magazines, other print media, on television, radio and electronic media (including social media and the internet). Photographs and videos will also be stored on the Department’s internal records management system. The Department will keep the photographs and recordings for no longer than is necessary for the purposes for which they have been obtained. The Department’s Privacy Policy is available on our website.

7. For media enquiries contact the Department for the Economy Press Office at

8. To keep up to date with news from the Department you can follow us on the following social media channels:

9. The Executive Information Service operates an out of hours service for media enquiries only between 1800hrs and 0800hrs Monday to Friday and at weekends and public holidays. The duty press officer can be contacted on 028 9037 8110.

Share this page

Back to top