New Deputy Chair appointed to The Consumer Council

Mr McAteer will serve for a period of three years which commenced on 1 July 2016.

The appointment has been made in accordance with the CPANI Code of Practice for Ministerial Public Appointments in Northern Ireland.

Notes to Editors

1. Mick McAteer hails from Northern Ireland.  He has over 20 years experience as a consumer advocate in the UK and EU and is best known for his work in financial services. He was on the board of the Financial Services Authority (FSA) and the FSA's successor, the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) for just over six years until January 2016.

He is founder and Co-Director of the Financial Inclusion Centre, a UK based not-for-profit think tank.

He is Chair of the European Commission's Financial Services User Group (FSUG) and a board member of the CARITAS (Westminster) Advisory Board.  He is also a Trustee of ShareAction and Chair of Z2K (Zacchaeus 2000) Trust.

He is a Consumer panel member of the Registry Trust and an Innovation Consultative Working Group member of the European and Securities Markets Authority (ESMA).

Previously, Mick was Principal Policy Adviser at Which? (the largest consumer group in Europe, formerly known as Consumers' Association) for 13 years until end 2006 and formulated the organization’s policy on financial services.

Mr McAteer brings experience of consumer issues, strategic thinking,          leadership and governance to the Board, as well as communication skills. 

2. He does not hold any other public appointments.

3. The Consumer Council for Northern Ireland, established in 1985, under the terms of the General Consumer Council (Northern Ireland) Order 1984, is funded by the Department of Enterprise, Trade and Investment.  The Council’s aim is to make the consumer voice heard and make it count.  It has a statutory remit to promote and safeguard the interests of consumers in Northern Ireland and has specific functions in relation to energy, water, transport, postal services and food.

4. Under the provisions of the Order, the Board of the Council shall consist of a Chairman, a Deputy Chairperson and no more than 16 members.  Current membership stands at 10, (Chair, Deputy Chair and 8 members).  The Deputy Chair post is not salaried but the following fee is payable - £139.35 per day.

5. All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process.  However, the Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland requires the political activity of appointees (if any declared) to be published.  Details of the appointee’s political activity in the past five years are as follows: Mr McAteer canvassed for the Labour Party during the General Election, London Mayoral Election, and European Referendum.

Also, he acts as ‘Policy Co-ordinator’ for the Clissold Branch of Hackney North & Stoke Newington Labour Party.

6. For press enquires please contact the DfE Press Office, telephone 028 9052 9604.  Out of office hours, please contact the Deputy Press Officer via pager number 07699 715 440 and your call will be returned.


Back to top