Northern Ireland Screen Board reappointments

Adeline Dinsmore, Michael Kuhn and Laurence McKeown have been reappointed for a further four year term with effect from 1 January 2017. The tenure of Tim McKane and James Penny has been extended by six months from 1 January 2017 to 30 June 2017.

The reappointments and extensions were made by Simon Hamilton MLA, prior to the end of his tenure as Minister for the Economy. They were made in accordance with the Commissioner for Public Appointments, Northern Ireland, Code of Practice.

Notes to editors: 

  1. The Northern Ireland Screen Commission (trading as Northern Ireland Screen) was established in 1997 to accelerate the development of a dynamic and sustainable film industry and culture in Northern Ireland.
  2. Limited by Guarantee, Northern Ireland Screen is a Non-Departmental Public Body (NDPB) which was formerly a Department of Culture Arts and Leisure (DCAL) sponsored body. On 9 May 2016 Northern Ireland Screen transferred to DfE as part of the restructuring of government departments and DfE is now the sponsoring department for Northern Ireland Screen.
  3. All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. However, the Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland requires the political activity of appointees (if any declared) to be published. Any political activity is mentioned in the pen pictures attached.
  4. Northern Ireland Screen Board Members posts are unpaid; Members receive travel and subsistence allowances only.
  5. Pen pictures


  • Adeline Dinsmore

Mrs Dinsmore is a former teacher and principal who has used film to engage students while teaching literature. She has introduced and developed a number of creative initiatives to harness the use of digital technologies in teaching to offer a wider curriculum to her pupils and staff. Mrs Dinsmore served as a member of the Broadcasting Council of BBC NI for five years. She currently works as an educational consultant supporting school leaders. Mrs Dinsmore has not been involved in any political activity in the last five years.

  • Michael Kuhn

Mr Kuhn built up the film studio Polygram Filmed Entertainment which has produced/distributed over one hundred films including major productions such as Four Weddings and a Funeral, Fargo, Trainspotting and Shallow Grave. His most recent film, Florence Foster Jenkins, was nominated for four Golden Globes and has received both Oscar and BAFTA nominations. He has been awarded the Michael Balcon BAFTA for outstanding contribution to the UK Film Industry. Mr Kuhn has served as Chair of the National Film and Television School from 2003 – 2010. He was a member of the board of governors of Robert Redford’s Sundance Institute and helped set up the Sundance Film Channel. He was a member of the EU Committee which reported on the media industry’s digital future in 1998. Mr Kuhn has not been involved in any political activity in the last five years.

  • Laurence McKeown

Dr McKeown founded the West Belfast Film Festival in 1995 which later became the Belfast Film Festival in 2001. He currently serves on the Board of the Festival. He has co-written a feature film, H3, and written and directed several short films. His most recent documentary film was You Were Never Big on Luxuries; Art, Life and Conflict. He also works as a writer and playwright and his most recent play (2016) is entitled Green and Blue. Dr McKeown was Project Coordinator with Coiste na nIarchimÍ from 1998 – 2007. He is a regular commentator in the media, speaking on a range of cultural, current and political affairs. Dr McKeown has previously spoken in public in support of Sinn Féin.


  • Tim McKane

Mr McKane runs Navatalk, one of Northern Ireland's leading digital marketing agencies. He has been involved in marketing and advertising for over thirty years, and has chaired the Publicity Association of Northern Ireland and the NI Branch of the Institute of Practitioners in Advertising. He has been a Board Member of Northern Ireland Screen since 1 January 2008. Mr McKane has not been involved in any political activity in the last five years.

  • James Penny

Mr Penny is Commercial Director of Mammoth Screen, a television drama production company. He was previously a lawyer advising film and television production companies in the UK and USA, broadcasters and talent. He was previously a partner at law firm Arthur Cox and, before that, Head of Business Affairs at ITV Studios. He has been a Board Member of Northern Ireland Screen since 1 January 2008 and has served on various committees including chairing the Finance and Audit Committee. Mr Penny has not been involved in any political activity in the last five years.

Between them these individuals bring a range of skills and knowledge to their role on the Northern Ireland Screen Board, including an informed interest in the screen industries (film, television and digital content) and an appreciation of the role and contribution that the screen industries and moving image can make to society; experience in governance in the community and voluntary sector, public sector or private sector; effective communication skills, in particular, representation and media-handling skills, including public speaking; and experience of developing/influencing policy or strategy at a sectoral, regional or national level.


6. All media enquiries should be directed to the Department for the Economy Press Office on 028 9052 9604. Out of office hours please contact the Duty Press Officer via pager number 07623 974 383 and your call will be returned.

7. Follow us on Twitter @Economy_NI

CPANI logo

Back to top